CFC Logo

Christ Fellowship Church

A New Beginning in Love
ERSF Banner Blue

Women’s Ministry
Evelyn T. Russell Scholarship Application


The Evelyn T. Russell Scholarship Fund was established in 2000 by the Christ Fellowship Church Women’s Ministry.  The Women’s Ministry Advisory Board believed that honoring a founding member of the church, Mrs. Evelyn T. Russell, could best be demonstrated through a scholarship fund to enable the ongoing education of our youth.  Mrs. Russell was a profound encourager of young men and women who pursued higher learning in order to achieve better careers, attain job-enhancing skills, and, more so, to become all that the Lord had created them to be.  Thus, each year, the Women’s Ministry, through the sacrificial giving of church members, family members and friends, endeavors to award scholarships to deserving church youth to assist them in attaining their educational goals.

Who May Apply
The scholarship is available to members of the Christ Fellowship Church who are selected for the scholarship award based on their meeting and fulfilling the scholarship award requirements.

Scholarship Application Timeframe
Completed applications, essays, and supporting documentation are due no later than 9 July 2019 and should be submitted via e-mail to Any questions may be directed to the Women’s Ministry Scholarship Evaluation Panel, c/o Wanda Montague or any member of the Scholarship Committee. The committee members for 2019 are Ms. Emma Coles, Edson Evertsz, Rebecca Middlehof, Bianca Robinson (Mrs. Russell’s granddaughter) and Michael Montague.

Scholarship Award Requirements
Applicants must submit: a two-page, double spaced, typed essay in American Psychological Association (APA) format prepared by the applicant. The response should focus on the Scholarship Questions contained in the 2019 Evelyn T. Russell Scholarship Awards Application package. Please select one question and prepare an essay that includes footnotes, references, and endnotes as applicable. You may use the websites listed to assist with preparation of your essay. Click on item(s) below:

Purdue Online Writing Lab
Psychology With Style Writing Guide
Cal State University Library Style Manuals & Writing Guides
Guide to Writing a Basic Essay

Selection of Scholarship Recipient(s) and Presentation of Awards
The Scholarship Evaluation Panel will review all applications and make selections and award announcements will be made by the ERSF Committee the week of 28 July 2019. Presentations will be awarded on 11 August 2019, during church service. For those not in attendance on the day of presentations, the scholarship awards will be mailed shortly thereafter, to allow awards to be received prior to the start of fall classes.

The complete list of scholarship award requirements are available by downloading the 2019 Evelyn T. Russell Scholarship Application Package. For the complete 2019 ERSF Awards Application Package click here.